Ohio State beats Minnesota-Duluth in Frozen Four final for first-ever

Ohio State is the ladies’ Frozen Four hockey champion finally.

The Buckeyes came out on top for the principal championship in program history on Sunday, overcoming Minnesota-Duluth 3-2 in the title game. Ohio State had been the competition’s top-cultivated group interestingly, also, following the Buckeyes’ initial 30 or more win normal season (31-6).

“I just trusted in these young ladies so much, as they did in one another, and I thought this was one of the most outstanding hockey games they played the entire year,” said Ohio State mentor Nadine Muzerall. “So meriting it, and they won’t ever stopped. They played impeccably this evening. I’m so glad for them.”

Sunday’s outcome came in especially smashing style for the unseeded Bulldogs, who last brought home a title in 2010. While it was Buckeyes forward Kenzie Hauswirth credited with the game-dominating score, her shot went off UMD safeguard Brenna Fuhrman’s skate for an own objective that tricked netminder Emma Soderberg.

Soderberg had been the Bulldogs’ best player all through the competition, backstopping UMD to prevails upon Harvard (4-0), No. 2 Minnesota (2-1) and negative. 3 Northeastern (2-1). She was exciting again in the last, turning in a 33-save execution.

The Buckeyes were the country’s top group for an explanation, however, and they showed why again on Sunday.

“I figured we worked really hard getting after them quick in the primary period and proceeding to keep that strain,” Muzerall said. “I thought our change game was amazing and that we worked really hard with back pressure. Furthermore, we scored as the need might have arisen. Despite the fact that they counterpunched after every objective, we didn’t stop, and I imagine that gives the indication of a hero.”

After a scoreless first period, Ohio State forward Paetyn Levis had the Buckeyes on the board first with a strategic maneuver objective in the second, enduring a roaring shot from Naomi Rogge as she discharged a puck past Soderberg.

It was Rogge who then made it 1-1 later in the center edge off a tip of Kailee Skinner’s shot before Amanda Thiele. Rogge was the legend for UMD in the elimination rounds, scoring the twofold extra time game champ against Northeastern.

The third time frame started in sensational style for the two sides. Under a moment in, Soderberg passed on her net to play the puck however misused it right back to the hurrying Buckeyes, and Clair DeGeorge effectively put Ohio State up 2-1.

It wouldn’t stand the test of time. Elizabeth Giguere answered rapidly for UMD with a smooth wrister over the glove of Thiele to tie the title game again 2-2.

Ohio State kept the tension on, yet Soderberg was capable. She made a dynamite paddle stop that saved one sure objective and stoned Jenna Buglioni on a breakaway.

It was the strange bob off Fuhrman that at long last broken Soderberg, giving Ohio State a lead it wouldn’t give up.

Following the Buckeyes’ success, senior Levis was named the Most Outstanding Player.